28.2 C
Monday, July 4, 2022



Seventeen members of Edo State House of Assembly say they have impeached the Speaker, Mr. Francis Okiye.

They also claimed to have impeached the newly inaugurated deputy Speaker, Roland Asoro.

The 17 lawmakers comprise 14 members whose seats were declared vacant, and an additional three members of the Assembly.

The 14 lawmakers were sworn in at a private location, after which they teamed up with three others to impeach Okiye and Asoro.

The 17 lawmakers had pledged their allegiance to the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the September 19 gubernatorial election, Osagie Ize-Iyamu.

The 17 lawmakers also said they had elected a new Speaker, Mr. Victor Edoror.

Edoror, who represents Esan Central constituency, was reportedly elected during an emergency plenary session attended by the 17 elected members.

It was learnt on Thursday that the meeting, which took place in an undisclosed location in Benin City in the early hours of the day, also saw the election of Emmanuel Agbaje of Akoko Edo Constituency II as the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly.

The PUNCH learnt from a source that the 14 lawmakers-elect that had yet to be inaugurated were immediately inaugurated after which they allegedly impeached Frank Okiye and Roland Asoro as Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

The source told The PUNCH that the new Speaker, Victor Edoror, promised to focus on its legislative duties, and not pursue the impeachment of any member of the Executive.

He reportedly called for unity and togetherness, stating that there was no victor, no vanquished.

Edoror also directed the Edo Commissioner of Police, the Inspector General of Police, and other security agencies to eject the thugs who have invaded the Assembly Complex in Benin to allow for a rancour-free plenary on Friday, August 7.

@ Punch Newspaper


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Lennon Adanaa Philemon; The Most valuable Outstanding Promising Entrepreneur of Real Estate

The biggest youth event in Nigeria the 11th young...

Institute of Stockbrokers elect first Female Principal Officer

History has been made at Chartered Institute of Stockbrokers...

The 11th Young Achievers Nigeria award

His Here again... The youth o'clock award. The biggest, the...

Unveiling of Manuals: Buhari Commends Bawa, Urges Other Agencies to Emulate EFCC

President Muhammadu Buhari today Friday March 25, 2022, commended...